Author Topic: Circles  (Read 9170 times)

yarnexpress

• Starting Stitcher
    • View Profile
Circles
« on: 13 February 2009, 21:40:39 »
Hi All,
I hope this isn't a duplicate post. When I tried to post before, I had some problems & it didn't appear as a posting.

I'm new to QA but I really love it. I'm trying to create templates for a Japanese Block called A Wheel of Fortune. I'm including an attachment of a mocked up block but in case the attachment fails the block consists of 2 concentric circles within the square block, think doughnut. The ring section between the 2 circles consists of 16 segments, 8 pairs of 2 different sizes. The block is all patchwork.

I've can't figure out how to draw the circles. I've tried many combinations of options without success. If I draw a satisfactory circle when I release the mouse button the circle either disappears or is connected to the edge of the block.

I also can't figure out how to center the circles, once I get them drawn that is. Is there anyway to see the size of the circles? I think I can create the line segments ok.

Please help!
Doris

Arnout

• Administrator
  • Perfect Piecer
    • View Profile
Re: Circles
« Reply #1 on: 14 February 2009, 19:22:16 »
Hi Doris,

When you want to make a design like this with QA, you need to be a aware of one limitation in the software: it doesn't like patches or patchwork with holes in it. If you start your project trying to draw a full circle, that would leave you with a round inner patch and an outer patch with a circular hole in it. Since QA can't cope with that, you won't be able to get that result.

Knowing that, this is what I would do: first draw a couple of extra dividing lines, an remove those at a later stage. Step by step:

1. Create a new project (you could use your image as a background to help you draw, but here I will leave it out for clarity).